Malaysia’s departure tax starts 1 September 2019

As cited by the Departure Levy (Rate of Departure Levy) Order 2019, everyone (with a few exceptions) flying out of Malaysia will have to start paying a departure levy soon. Do note that this only applies to those taking international flights and does not affect land transport across borders. 

How much is the departure levy?

The departure levy for those who fly out from Malaysia range from RM8 to RM150, categorised by arrival destinations and flight travel class. Refer to the table below to determine the departure tax you will be imposed:

Countries / Flight class ASEAN* countries Rest of the world
Economy** class RM8 RM20
Non-economy class RM50 RM150

*The official list of ASEAN countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

**Economy class refers to flights that are advertised, sold and provided by airlines using economic terms or the equivalent, or offering the lowest prices when compared to other packages.

How the departure levy is being imposed is still undetermined. Do check back for more updates!

Am I exempted from Malaysia’s departure tax?

While everyone (Malaysians and non-Malaysians) are expected to pay the departure tax as per the rates above, there are a few exceptions:

  • Infants and toddlers aged below 24 months (two years old)
  • Flight passengers in transiting in Malaysia airport with a transit period not exceeding 12 hours
  • Those driving or riding any type of vehicle for personal use (including aircraft or vessel) and pillion riders or passengers of such vehicles
  • Any crew on duty on board any vehicle including aircraft or vessel

Save on departure tax, travel local!

Why not explore home like a tourist? To help you save even more, enjoy 7% off ALL local activities on KLOOK with the code “MSIAHOME7”. Valid from now until 30 September 2019! Not sure where to go for your very own cuti-cuti Malaysia? Make sure you check out this guide on family holiday destinations in Malaysia.