Katla Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik

Wishlist
  • Conditional Cancelation*
  • Show Mobile or Printed Voucher
  • 11 Hrs Duration
  • English
  • Join In Group
  • Hotel Pick Up
  • Discover the marvels of Icelandic nature and set your sights on the most amazing ice cave on a day tour
  • Katla Volcano and Mýrdalsjökull glacier combined their forces and made a breathtaking ice cave
  • Marvel at the many layers of the glacier to see how it had built up over time
  • Enter the cathedral-like atmosphere of the ice dome produced by the Katla Volcano in Kötlujökull outlet glacier
  • Hop into a Super Jeep and get ready for an incredible journey in an icy land
  • You can also join this Ice Cave Tour if you're coming from Vik
Most Recent Review

  • Li Wen 5 May 2018
    view was magnificent. travelling time is abit long though

Featured Travel Guide

US$ 211.55

  • Available Today
    Available Tomorrow
    Earliest available date:
    Currently Unavailable
    Instant Confirmation
  • 199 Booked
    2.7 (11 reviews)

Get free credits when you complete an experience

Get HK$10 off your first Mobile App booking with promo code mobile10
Download App
EXCLUSIVE OFFER

Promo Code:

Package Options
Please select a tour date
  • Katla Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik (AA-KICRVK)

    Package Details

    Inclusive Of:

    • Knowledgeable glacier guide
    • Super Jeep ride
    • Visit to a natural ice cave
    • Crampons for walking on ice
    • Round trip transfers from Reykjavik

    Not Inclusive Of:

    • Food and drinks

    US$ 211.55

    Select Date

    Select Time

    Package Quantity

    Package Details

    Inclusive Of:

    • Knowledgeable glacier guide
    • Super Jeep ride
    • Visit to a natural ice cave
    • Crampons for walking on ice
    • Round trip transfers from Reykjavik

    Not Inclusive Of:

    • Food and drinks
Related Activities
What To Expect

This amazing day tour out of Reykjavik lets you see two polar extremes of this natural wonder with trip to see the glaciers and the Katla Volcano. The tour starts from Reykjavik, where you'll be passing by charming towns with mountains on one side and a picturesque sea on the other. A Super Jeep will then take you to Mýrdalsjökull glacier, where you'll get a chance to marvel at the otherworldly layers of differently-colored ice that are almost like stripes. Enter the glacier and explore, surrounded by giant ice walls on each side as your guide tells you about the glacier's history. At the end of the tunnel, you'll come upon the outlet glacier Kötlujökull, with the ice dome created by the Katla Volcano, which it's named after. It's a fantastic wonder, with its hole in the glacier roof where light shines in, creating a heavenly atmosphere. You'll also be able to search for smaller ice caves afterward, and enjoy the sight of the sun glistening off the ice as you head to Vik, where you'll be having lunch. Afterwards, you'll then go to see the Skógafoss waterfall, which is so majestic and eerie that it has been featured in films - the last stop before returning to Reykjavik around dinner time. Don't forget to take photographs of this unforgettable journey!

Kötlujökull glacier
See the incredible Mýrdalsjökull glacier and climb it!
Kötlujökull 
See the beautiful layers of ice that have formed on it
Kötlujökull glacier
Enjoy the sun glistening off the ice as you drive in a Super Jeep
ice cave tour
It's an incredible experience that makes you aware of the awesome power of nature
Activity Information
Confirmation

Confirmation:

  • You will receive a confirmation email and voucher instantly after booking
  • In the event that you do not receive an email from us, please check your Spam folder or notify us via email
Itinerary

Itinerary:

  • 9:00am pick up from your hotel or a nearby meeting point in Reykjavík
  • Pass charming towns and rivers with mountains on one side and sea on the other side
  • Come to a stop right in front of Kötlujökull glacier
  • Put on the crampons and walk closer to the ice cave
  • Walk around inside, taking your time to admire
  • Returning back out to the wonderland of the Kötlujökull mountains
  • On the way back will first stop at Vík and then at both popular Skógafoss waterfall
  • Stop at the stunning Seljalandsfoss waterfall, on the Seljalands River which flows all the way down from the famous volcano, Eyjafjallajökull
  • Return to Reykjavík around 8:00pm

Please note that In the darkest months, from 1 Nov to 16 Feb, the tour won't stop at Skogafoss due to limited daylight. However, you will have a view of Skogafoss from the car and you will be able to see the amazing Reynisdrangar basalt sea stacks from Vik

Additional Information

Additional Information:

  • Child ticket: Age 10-15
  • Children aged 0-9 are not permitted to join this tour
  • Suitable for most people in fair condition. You have to be able to walk on uneven surface and hike for at least 2-3 hours at a slow pace, with breaks. Trails are generally of good quality and glacier travel is at a relatively low angle
  • Travelers are advised to purchase their own insurance if necessary
  • Itinerary is subject to weather and traffic condition
What to Bring
  • Warm and waterproof jacket and pants, hiking boots and headwear and gloves
  • Lunch is not provided on this trip so it is recommended that customers bring their own lunch (for the longer trips), snacks and a bottle of water (you can refill during the trip)
How To Use
  • You can present either a printed or a mobile voucher for this activity
  • The voucher is valid only on the travel date and time specified

Pick Up Information:

  • Pick up and drop offs are available from select accommodations and special Tour Bus Stops in central Reykjavik
  • The pick up time and location will be displayed on your voucher
  • Pick up can take up to 30 minutes starting from the time on your ticket. Please wait at your designated pick up location in this time span
  • If you are unable to find your accomodation during check out then please select the Tour bus stop closest to your location or an alternative hotel
  • In some instances the name of your accomodation will be followed with "Pick up at" in these instances, we require you to travel to an alternative location for your pick up, we try our best to keep these travel times to a minimum
  • Please see Tour Bus Stop locations guide for more information
Cancelation Policy
  • Full refunds will be issued for cancelations made at least 72 hours prior to the activity
  • In case of inclement weather, the tour will be cancelled and you will get full refund
View All
Reviews (11) 2.7
  • WAI KWAN 9 Oct 2018
    Little bit disappointed as the expectations against actual is not really matched as the photos on the tour advertising is too beautiful to attract us to join this tour, but the sightseeing are super nice as beautiful weather in that day.
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • Li Wen 5 May 2018
    view was magnificent. travelling time is abit long though
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • Lup Seng 23 Dec 2018
    Extremely bad tour. Whole duration of tour was 11 hours. Only spent 10-15 mins max in the ice cave. Most of the time was spent traveling, stopping at petrol stations and waiting for people at multiple pick up and drop off locations. There were even detours to pick up and drop off people from other tours (glacier hike) which wasted even more time. The actual itinerary was different from what was listed. There was an extra stop at black beach which was not mentioned in the itinerary (spent about an hour there), and we did not stop for lunch at Vik. Unfortunately, I already visited black beach the day before as I did not expect this tour to cover it so that was a waste of time too. The cave itself was very small and honestly pathetic. The tour guide for the tour was bad. Couldn't hardly hear what he is speaking about and he was rude. There were no safety brief before the cave. He starting walking away after passing out the crampons and helmets. He kept shouting and rushing us when we were trying very hard to put on the crampons and helmets. On the way back the Jeep broke down and we had to wait in there for about 30mins for another Jeep to come pick us up. Please save your time and money. Never book this tour.
    Translated Review. Show Original

    Reply from Klook

    We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience on the Katla Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik. We have shared your concerns with the local operator who have extended their sincerest regrets for the inconvenience and unsatisfactory experience and have offered you a partial refund. We thank you for providing your very valuable feedback and hope you will discover your next adventure on Klook.
  • Han Cheng 25 Dec 2018
    Out of the 11 hours for the round-trip tour from Reykjavik to Katla Ice Cave, we only spent around half an hour actually visiting the cave. The rest of the time were spent on the vehicle. The bus brought us from Reykjavik to Vik, before we changed to super jeep to drive to the cave, as there is no paved road leading to it. The bus stops at way too many rest stops. We thought that the rest stop is our only one and get lunch, only to find out that there is another rest stop next to get lunch. It would be better off driving to Vik on our own and hop on to the super jeep. Also, the ice cave wasn't that impressive as we've thought, just a small cave with ice, and the guide didn't really explained the cave well. There are better ways to spend the money at.
    Translated Review. Show Original

    Reply from Klook

    We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience on the Katla Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik. We have shared your concerns with the local operator who have extended their sincerest regrets for the inconvenience and unsatisfactory experience and have offered you a partial refund. We thank you for providing your very valuable feedback and hope you will discover your next adventure on Klook.
  • YUSHENG 14 Feb 2019
    The weather affects the itinerary, there are still departures, but a few trips, the day trip is really not enough time, the volcanic cave is very small, so staying there is not long, but you can experience the magic of nature, the scenery is priceless of
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • Shih Ling 20 May 2018
    The driver and the guide both have 100 points. They are very kind and very satisfied!
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • HuiAn 13 Jan 2019
    The tour guide is very professional, but it took a lot of time to get on the bus. The ice cave is a layer of volcanic ash layered with ice, which is a very special landscape.
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • Lai Yin 17 Jan 2019
    The tour bus is very narrow. It is hard to take a long-distance bus. In addition to the ice cave, other attractions only stay for 20 minutes. The time is not enough. The only thing that can be taken is the ice cave scenery. The tour guides are all qualified.
    Translated Review. Show Original
  • Si Hui 20 Jan 2019
    Booked this tour in December..it was absolutely disappointing and a complete waste of an entire day of our precious time. For such a long duration (11hrs), the amount of time spent in the actual ice cave, (ard 15min), is totally unjustifiable. There were so many things wrong with this tour. 1. No information of our pick-up time given (not reflected on voucher). We had to call the tour agency and waited ard 30 min for the bus to arrive. 2. The itinerary turned out different from the listing. We were supposed to head straight to the ice cave, then have lunch at Vik and visit a waterfall. However, the driver dropped off some people for the glacier hike tour and took us to a new location (Black beach). He only gave us the option to have lunch there (only one restaurant and super crowded). Waste of our time as we had already visited Black beach the day before. 3. Careless driver almost left a couple behind..luckily a few of us noticed, otherwise it would have caused inconvenience and delay to our schedule. 4. Unprofessional Ice cave tour guide that doesn't seem to speak English well. No safety briefing or instructions on how to wear helmets and crampons. As some of us were still struggling to put on our crampons, he kept yelling at us to hurry and just walked in front without waiting or helping. Even in the cave, he did not explain anything well and we could hardly understand him. He was just rude in general!! 5. Pathetically small Ice cave that took only 5 min to walk until the dead end. We spent maybe 15 min inside before everyone started walking out, many thinking there were other caves to explore but nope!! Unbelievably not worth what we paid for. 6. The Super Jeep BROKE DOWN when we were making our way back (a friend mentioned that he saw the check engine lights and other caution lights on when we were on the way to the ice cave..) We had to wait ard 30-45 min to transfer to another Jeep. By the time it had gotten dark and became pointless to visit the waterfall. I strongly warn everyone to stay away from this tour and would suggest Klook to consider taking it off so as to not disappoint its customers.
    Translated Review. Show Original

    Reply from Klook

    We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience on your Katla Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik. We have shared your concerns with the local operator who have extended their sincerest regrets for the inconvenience and unsatisfactory experience and have offered you a partial refund. We thank you for providing your very valuable feedback and hope you will discover your next adventure on Klook.
  • SIU KI 7 Dec 2018
    The collection time is wrong. The local travel agency said that the group only departed at 9:00 and did not depart at 8:00, but because I collected the time provided by the klook website, I stayed in the hotel lobby for more than an hour.
    Translated Review. Show Original
FAQs
Klook Help Center
While you're here, check these out too!

Psst! You can get off this booking using promo code on the Klook App!

No thanks, I don't want a discount